top of page

The ISMB provides awards in recognition of important contributions to matrix biology, at all levels, including poster prizes for students, the Rupert Timpl award to outstanding young investigators, and the Distinguished Investigator award to established researchers for lifetime achievements in the field.

Rupert Timpl awardees:

2022    Joan Chang (University of Manchester) and Julie S. Di Martino (Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai)

2020    Paul Hiebert (ETH-Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland)
2018    Alexandra Naba (University of Illinois, Chicago, USA)
2016    Alexander Nyström (University Medical Center Freiburg, Germany)
2014    Franck Oury (Institut Necker Enfants Malades, Paris, France)
2012    Thordur Oskarsson (Heidelberg Inst. for Stem Cell Technology and Exp. Medicine, Germany)
2010    Anika Lange (Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Martinsried, Germany)
2008    Adam Engler (University of California San Diego, USA)
2006    Elizabeth Canty(Laird) (University of Manchester, UK)
2004    Claus Franzke (University Medical Center, Freiburg, Germany)

Distinguished Investigator awardees:


2023   Taina Pihlajaniemi (University of Oulu, Finland)
2020   Robert Mecham (Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, Missouri, USA)
2018    Billy Hudson (Vanderbilt University, Nashville, USA)
2016    Karl Tryggvason (Duke -National University of SingaporeMedical School)
2014    Leena Bruckner-Tuderman (University Medical Center, Freiburg, Germany)
2012    Richard Hynes (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Boston, USA)
2010    Bjorn Olsen (Harvard Medical School, Boston, USA)
2008    Reinhard Fassler (Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Martinsried, Germany)

bottom of page